A blog tracking the adventures of an aspiring mini painter and sculptor

A new year and new techniques…


o not been doing a whole lot recently but have started a few pieces mostly to try new techniques. Finding that recently I havent been inspired to actually finish a piece, more just painting to try out new techniques . Struggling to find a piece that makes me want to finish it.

Anyway, the first guy is just a start, focused mostly on the skin on his back, (trying to use seb archers method, found HERE) the metallics are about 70% done, I just need to glaze back the highlights. and smooth out a couple issues in the shading. The rest is just basecoats pretty much.

And a base I started for the Pan mini From Studio McVey, here I was looking at the fairies (there is another in his hand but I havent got that far) changing colour to tell emotions.  I figure since they are so small yelling probably isnt very effective so they have to use another way to warn each other. so the bottom one was blue (cold) due to being suspicious and the picture doesnt show it at all actually but the face is scared as she has just seen Pan grab for his knife so she is turning purple. I plan for the one in his hand to be warmer colours but I probably wont get there for a while.

Anyway, sorry for the wall of text, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

